Scary Movie October: A review of Shaun of the Dead

“You’ve got red on you.”

A lot of people in this country really like zombies. I get it. They can be kind of funny. They make strange noises. They are really gross looking and while you can totally defeat one or two on your own, they always seem to travel in packs and that spells trouble. Zombies, the world’s favorite type of monster.

A bunch of my friends love and recommended that I watch Shaun of the Dead, but I was hesitant to watch it for a while. After reading the Walking Dead comics, I decided to watch the show and only made it through one season. I was zombied out. It was time to hang my hat and try something else. Between my general dislike of horror comedies and being tired of zombies, I actively avoided Shaun of the Dead.

It turns out, this movie is really amusing. Some of the gore is so hilariously over-the-top; at one point a character’s stomach is ripped out and his head and limbs are torn off but it’s FUNNY. I think maybe it’s the dry British humor that really sat well with me, but I was thoroughly entertained while watching Shaun of the Dead. The movie is a romantic comedy as well, and although I’m not big into romantic comedies, it works well with the horror aspect of the film.

Shaun of the Dead blends together great elements of a horror film and great elements of a comedy and makes some really super enjoyable. I definitely recommend that anyone who has a bit of a sick sense of humor watch this movie. It’ll definitely be in my regular Halloween movie rotation.

RIYL: British people, zombies, Queen, dive bars

2 responses to “Scary Movie October: A review of Shaun of the Dead

  1. Have you seen the original Dawn of the Dead (1978)? It’s a pretty great blend of horror and comedy itself!

Leave a Reply

